The St. George temple, opened in 1877, is one of St. George’s most prominent icons and was the first LDS temple constructed in Utah. A pure white building nestled downtown and surrounded by the red rocks of Dixie, it can be seen from many parts of St. George. The construction of the temple was not finished until 1893, despite its groundbreaking and dedication in 1877. It is composed of volcanic rock, sandstone, and lumber from the surrounding areas and stands at about 175 feet tall. It is currently the oldest temple that is still actively used by the church. The visitor’s center is open to the public and showcases the history of the temple and church and attracts many visitors daily. Visitors are also welcome to stroll through the temple grounds.